Current News
The Cassini Scientist for a Day essay contest

The Cassini Scientist for a Day essay contest is open to all grade 5-12 students in the United States.  Students work alone or in groups of up to four students.  They write a 500-word essay about one of three possible imaging targets (Saturn's moons: Tethys, Titan, or Mimas) that the Cassini spacecraft orbiting Saturn can take on November 26, 2008.  Students will justify their choice as to which would potentially yield the best science.   Winners are invited to participate in a teleconference with Cassini scientists from JPL (NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory).
 
The contest deadline is October 30, 2008 at noon, Pacific Daylight Time (2:00pm Central Daylight Time / 3:00pm Eastern Daylight Time).
 
Download a flyer about the contest at:
 
http://saturn.jpl.nasa.gov/education/scientist/6th_edition/resources.cfm
 
The URL for the Cassini Scientist for a Day website is:
 
http://saturn.jpl.nasa.gov/education/scientist/6th_edition/index.cfm
 
Inquiries about the contest should be sent to:   scientistforaday@jpl.nasa.gov
 
We look forward to receiving essays from students in your state.
 
Sincerely,
The Cassini Outreach Team
 
scientistforaday@jpl.nasa.gov

More News


Username

Password


Forgot Login?


Poll
No poll available

   Kentucky Science
   Teachers Association
   P.O. Box 23918
   Lexington, KY 40523-3918
    1-800-381-6280